How my MP humbled me.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll have figured out I’m pretty opinionated on almost anything and I’m not really afraid of sharing my opinions. Well, today’s blog is a story of how doing so led to a rather humbling experience involving my local MP, Stewart Jackson.

As you might be able to tell by last Monday’s post about welfare reforms, I’m pretty annoyed about it. More specifically, I’m pretty annoyed about how it’s going to affect my family and other families in our position i.e. unemployed and poor. That annoyance rose even higher when the council sent a us a nice letter asking for £33 a month which we didn’t have. So I did what we’re encouraged to do and air my complaints with my MP via email, which I kept free of bad language if not entirely civil; a bit like a Daily Mail article about those pesky immigrants.

I was rather proud of it when I sent it. I did my research into his expenses, his living circumstances and worded it well enough so that I didn’t sound like a stereotypical benefits claimant, and expected some half hearted drivel about how it was best for the country, it’s all Labours’ fault etc. What I didn’t expect was a response that offered both help in the form of a letter to the council to see what can be done, if anything, and a lift to a jobs fair he’s opening in May. It also called me out for attacking his families living situation, and it was that made realise what an arse I sounded. I had become that which I hate; a jealous sounding idiot attacking someone out of anger.

I also realised that I had an MP who actually makes an effort and cares. In an age where MP’s are fraudulently passing their license points onto their wife, fiddling expenses, putting on phony accents to sound more common, or wearing catsuits on national TV (thanks, George Galloway), it seems a strange thing to say. I also realised that a fair proportion of the reforms made sense (do you have any idea how hard it is to claim over £26,000 worth of benefits?), and those I disagreed with I managed to talk to him about in a more civil tone.

Have you even had an experience like this with your MP, or anyone in fact?

Also, while she wasn’t particularly popular, I’ll be blogging about the now-late former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher either tomorrow or Wednesday, which will involve actually learning exactly why she was so unpopular.

Happy Monday

Nicky

 

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “How my MP humbled me.
  1. I was going to tell you about the time in infant school when our class was made to write letters to Kenneth Clarke (he wrote me back!) but the mention of George Galloway in catsuit has me now reflecting on him pretending to be a cat on Big Brother.

    What a tool!

  2. danjo says:

    I’m a Peterborough resident and Stewart Jackson in no way represents me or my interests. I would never vote for this bigot.

  3. danjo says:

    It’s all about policy, I would never resort to a personal attack but my experience of him is of a bigot. I’m absolutely certain he can turn on the charm and come across as a decent person, most of us can when we choose to. I’m also pleased you have done the research and established his honesty but why should this merit extra praise?

  4. It’s not that he can just turn on the charm, it’s that he’s actually offered to help us take our case to the council. If it’s policy you want to talk about then again I’ll spend the majority of it on your side; I’m not happy with a lot of the stuff this government does.
    I think you’re misunderstanding the point of the article. I’m simply trying to convey that politicians are humans too (with the possible exception of Lord Mandelson 😉 )and should be treated as such. Disagree with the policies and philosophies with as much ferocity as the debate requires, but remember the person themselves are just as human as yourself. It’s not about how everyone should praise him; I’m praising him because he’s genuinely trying to help my family, and we genuinely need all the help we can possibly get.

Leave a Reply

