Work and Pensions minister:”I could get by on benefits if I had to.’

I was going to do a light hearted post today on the numerous April Fools jokes on the internet, but the Government have gone and pissed me off again. This calls for a rant!

The UK Work and Pensions Secretary Iain Duncan Smith, who currently takes home £1,581 a week after tax PLUS expenses, claims he could get by on £53 a week if he had to. But then considering his expenses can include a flat/house in London, travel expenses, and food, that might be a bit easier than your average unemployed person.

I’ve mentioned before that Mr Duncan Smith has spent some time being unemployed in his younger days, which you would think would have given him a little bit of insight into what it’s like. Except no, because he always had his decorated war hero daddy and ballerina mummy to fall back on.

Considering my current living situation, I’m personally offended by this claim. The unfortunate fact is the majority of my family are unemployed, with the exception of my 17 year old sister who has a part time nights job. There’s times we struggle to feed ourselves, let alone pay the water bills that come through our door with the occasional ‘we’re going to start legal proceedings soon’ letter, so for him to defend his cuts that will leave the poorest 10% even poorer while making the rich even richer with that is short sighted and quite frankly offensive. Am I the only one who thinks that?

Now I’ve got that out of my system, this Wednesday I’ll have a guest post up from a friend of mine who’s a teacher, and will be talking about what it’s like to teach in this day and age, giving you a first hand account of a teacher who feels pushed out of his job by governmental constraints. Due to the nature of the piece wants to be anonymous, so I’ll imaginatively call him Mr X.

Happy Bank Holiday 😀

Nicky

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Work and Pensions minister:”I could get by on benefits if I had to.’
  1. […] I mentioned on Monday, today’s post is a guest post by my teacher friend, imaginatively called Mr X, and his take […]

  2. […] you might be able to tell by last Monday’s post about welfare reforms, I’m pretty annoyed about it. More specifically, I’m pretty annoyed about how […]

Leave a Reply

