Self Harm Awareness Day

Today is Self Harm Awareness Day, and I’d like to talk about that.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I have depression. I’ve only ever self harmed once, and fortunately I didn’t draw blood, preferring at the time to bite my arm hard enough to leave a mark. Unfortunately, some of friends and family haven’t been so lucky.

It’s important to define what self harm is. While the common image is slashed wrists, arms, or legs, self harm is literally harming oneself purposefully, whether it’s through an eating disorder, through abuse of drugs and alcohol, to punching or in my case biting oneself.

Although research suggests it’s more common between 15-19 year olds, there really isn’t an age limit to it. In fact, self harm incidences amongst those in their 20’s is rising.

It’s hard to go through, for both the harmer and those around them, and while I won’t suggest you make a special effort today just because it’s Self Harm Awareness Day to help your friends or yourself, I will ask that you promote the day on twitter, facebook, tumblr, your blog, whatever. Include links like the ones below. Spread the awareness, because you might just help one person today. You might just be the tweet, status, post, whatever, that makes somebody think and get help for themselves or others. And before you dismiss the idea of that ’cause it sounds too fairy tale, well, it worked for me.

Resources

NHS  self injury page-http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Self-injury/Pages/Introduction.aspx

The Samaritans helpsite (UK)-http://www.samaritans.org/

National Suicide Prevention Helpline(US)-http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

IMAlive, an online chat service for those too anxious to talk over the phone-https://www.imalive.org

It’s OK Campaign, a brilliant recent campaign by May Gabriel aiming to change the stigma around mental heath-http://www.itsokcampaign.co.uk/

If you have any more that you know that are useful, please let me know and I’ll put it here. I’ll also reply to anyone who feels they need to talk to someone at my email sociopathicuttlefish@gmail.com. I promise.

Remember, we’re all vulnerable in this life, some of us more so than others.

Please take care of each other, and take care of yourself most of all.

Nicky

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “Self Harm Awareness Day
  1. Brave of you to post about your struggles, Nicky. And helpful. I am really struck by how many bloggers out there speak about their battles with depression, let alone the amazing community of people that builds around them. Keep it up!

  2. dsantos85 says:

    Thank you for posting this! I feel this topic doesn’t get the attention it deserves.

  3. Laura C says:

    Depression is not a “trend”, nor a “in-fashion topic”..it’s a serious issue and it needs our attention. BUt don’t worry, it can be defeated :). Trust me ;). I’ve been there!

  4. […] Self Harm Awareness Day (sociopathicuttlefish.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

