Dying Regrets

The other day, my friend linked me to an article in the Guardian that listed the top 5 regrets of the dying, as written by an Australian nurse called Bonnie Ware. They are, in her experience:

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

These are both amazing depictions of the incredible hindsight offered to us when we near the end, and accurate descriptions of how we limit ourselves in order to live a ‘correct’ life. Regret number 2 was mainly realised by men, says nurse Ware, who had worked so hard to be the breadwinner he’d missed valuable experiences with his children and families. Regret 4 show just how many of us let those golden friendships slip away, too absorbed with our own lives (I’m guilty of this one), where regret 5 shows how few of us realise happiness is a choice until it’s too late.

Articles like this are incredible, as it gives us the gift of other people’s hindsight and allows us, if we want to, to be able to try and avoid having these regrets later in life. I’m certainly trying, and to me it’s worth trying right until the very end.

What about you? Do you have any regrets about the way you live now that you’d like to change?

Take care of you

Nicky

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Dying Regrets
  1. funny, I saw this same list recited by someone who was talkingn about the benefits of being a gamer:)

Leave a Reply

