New year, new look, and new resolutions

First of all, Happy New Year! I hope you had a great New Years Eve-why not tell me about it in the comments? Embarrassing stories encouraged!

Secondly, you’ll have probably noticed the new look I’ve been implementing these last couple of days. I’ve got rid of things like the reviews and two-word creativity pages because they were cluttering up the site and two-word creativity is going to a be a blog in its own right. There’s also an archives page now, but unfortunately I can’t change the dates to the page titles on the list (yet-come on WordPress). There’s still a couple of things I’m working on but this is essentially what it’ll look like for a long while now.

Now, as is particularly common, I have my new set of new years resolutions. I do fall into the stereotypical category of people who set them and eventually fail them, but this year I’m going try something different. This year, the majority of my new years resolutions will be guidelines, ideas on how to spend this year rather than things I need to achieve. Of course, there’s going to be a few targets, because what would they be without them?

So, starting with the ‘guidelines’:

  • Work on getting healthier-a twist on the typical ‘MUST LOSE WEIGHT’ resolution. Not having a lot of money (read: JSA only) my diet isn’t the best and healthiest. To supplement this, I’ll be starting to take vitamin and mineral supplements, and when I can, join a budget gym. Again, I’m not setting a target and working relentlessly; that doesn’t really work well with my mental health. Instead it’s more about doing things and taking the necessary steps to get healthier.
  • Give back to the community and the world-I feel that out there, I’ve been helped by hundreds of people on a range of issues, so I’d like to give something back and show the same kindness. I’ll be doing this by volunteering at Care Zone, a local charity that help the homeless and needy with clothes, food and furniture, and donate to charity where I can. I also want to try to donate to charities more and through Kiva, which is an organisation that allows people to loan money to businesses in the poorer parts of the world who need it to perhaps rebuild their shop or buy necessary materials. Honestly, I encourage you to give it a try. 99% of loans are fully repaid over time.

My targets, on the other hand, are:

  • Kick start my YouTube channel because I miss doing videos
  • Get a job because, well, obvious reasons
  • Be able to run a half marathon/Spartan Sprint because achievement. Also, because there’s a local half marathon at Swavesey, Cambridgeshire that’s raising money for Swavesey Village College and the RSPB, among others, which fits nicely into my other resolution above. If you’re local to Cambridgeshire, and aiming to get healthy and fit, I hope to see you there!
  • Stay alive

And that’s essentially what I want to do this year. Have you got any resolutions? If so, feel free to share in the comments below.

Hope you’re not too hung over!

Nicky

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

